Irish Rock and Roll Lullaby

16 12 2009

Oh I was born on the poor side of the Blarney Stone
When I was a wee lad, the town folk left me alone
I had no direction as my life roamed the countryside
Until one night I heard that Irish Rock and Roll Lullaby

There upon the meadow were four shadows on a rock
Playing homemade instruments that made the four winds stop
Swaying to and fro they didn’t see me rest upon the loon
As I laid in the tall grass, listening to their tune

“Now it’s time for all God’s children to rest their weary heads
As we play our merry song, in the style of The Grateful Dead
Two mandolins and hobbit’s flute, from Frodo I’ve been told
And holding down the beat is Lingo, on a pot of gold

Close your eyes my little ones as we sing you all to sleep
If you listen to our music, it’s just like counting sheep
Catch the moonlight in your hand and wish the night goodbye
As we sing and play for you, an Irish Rock and Roll Lullaby”

I listened there for hours as they played their elfish tune
Mesmerized by all the sights and sounds cast upon the moon
I snuck back there every night to hear them play that song
As I played my Air Mandolin, they made me sing along

Then one night I got to close to the four lads in the grass
They all stopped and looked my way, I had to act real fast
I shouted to the heavens, ” I’m a but a child who can not sleep you see
Oh how I wish that someone would sing a lullaby to me.”

“Now it’s time for all God’s children to get a little sleepy
Unless you’re the one who is here every night, that is kind of creepy
We see you in the grass singing and playing your air mandolin
If you want to help us out, what we need is some woodwind

So close your eyes and come up and be a member of the band
Listen to our music and you will understand
Catch a falling star and wish your mortal life goodbye
You can sing and play with us, an Irish Rock and Roll Lullaby”

So I picked a four-leaf clover and a box of Lucky Charms
Caught a leprechaun and bad him well without any harm
Washed away my troubles in a nearby Irish Spring
Gave away the living world just to dance and sing

You will find me every night on the meadow’s side
Once where there was four shadows, now there is but five
Dancing back and forth, singing as happy as can be
If you want to join the band, just repeat after me

“Oh, Now it’s time for all God’s children to rest their weary heads
As we play our merry song in the style of the Grateful Dead
Two mandolins and a Hobbit’s flute, from Frodo I’ve been told
And Lingo has some woodwinds to keep beat with his Pot of Gold

Close your eyes my little ones as we sing you all to sleep
If you listen to our music, it’s just like counting sheep
Catch the moonlight in your hand and wish the night goodbye
As we sing and play for you, an Irish Rock and Roll Lullaby”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

