Blame it on the Banana Truck

27 02 2010

I could not go to work today
Though I tried with all my might
It seemed the main road was blocked
Something happened on it over night
I wish I could be at my desk today
But I’m afraid I was out of luck
Don’t blame me for not showing up
You can blame it on the banana truck

Blame it on the banana truck
There was no way I could slip by
Blame it on the banana truck
I gave it a bunch of tries
I know this is a lame excuse and it may seem a little dumb
Blame it on the banana truck
A case of too much potassium

Northbound Interstate 270
Was closed between the Beltway and Germantown Road
I didn’t know about the congestion
Till I tune to WTOP and I was told
There was a truck that had jackknifed ahead
That left all the traffic confused and reeling
Needless to same if was a horrible mess
And the smell wasn’t all that appealing

Blame it on the banana truck
There was no way I could slip by
Blame it on the banana truck
I gave it a bunch of tries
I know this is a lame excuse and it may seem a little dumb
Blame it on the banana truck
A case of too much potassium

This is the truth, I wouldn’t lie
You can read it in tomorrow’s headlines
How the commute stopped on 270
It was one fruity time
If I had known this before my drive
There is one thing I would have done
Brought enough ice cream, nuts and hot sauce
And made banana splits for everyone

Blame it on the banana truck
There was no way I could slip by
Blame it on the banana truck
I gave it a bunch of tries
I know this is a lame excuse and it may seem a little dumb
Blame it on the banana truck
A case of too much potassium

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

