That Theodor (A Tribute to Dr. Seuss )

2 03 2011

That Theodor
That Theodor
Known by another
Name for sure

Remember when
You were four?

I do not remember
When I was four
I do not remember
That Theodor

His book I read
You always begged
His book I read
About those colored eggs

I do not remember
Those colored eggs
I do not remember
A book that was begged
I do not remember
When I was four
I do not remember
That Theodor

Would you remember
If I served you the dish
Would you remember
And not be so anguished

I do not remember
And I am anguished
I do not remember
When you speak of this dish
I do not remember
This book that was begged
I do not remember
Those colorful eggs
I do not remember
When I was four
I do not remember
That Theodor

Was the first book I read
By Mr. Geisel
When you were sick
And down with measles

I had the Measles ?
Who is this Geisel ?
Getting more anguished
As you speak more of this dish
Of this book that was begged
About those colorful eggs
When I was age four
And That Theodor

I see that you
Are quite upset
So one last clue
That will help you guess

Your game on guessing
On my Wedding Day
Is making me upset
What can I say
I had the Measles ?
Who is this Geisel ?
Getting more anguished
As you speak more of this dish
Of this book that was begged
About those colorful eggs
I do not remember
When I was four
I do not remember
That THEODOR!!!!!

I know you don’t remember
Yet it brings back the times
I know you don’t remember
Being that little girl of mine

Now you are full grown
And I have to cut you loose
From the days of Green Eggs and Ham
And reading Dr. Seuss

As we were about
To walk down the Church aisle
I remembered it all
And I started to smile

It all came back to me
On my special Wedding Day
With my Dad by my side
About to give me away

Walking hand in hand
Turning to my Dad with new found pride
I told him the words
That made us both cry

I do remember
And I’m not upset
I do remember
I should have guessed
I do remember
When I had the Measles
I do remember
You reading books by Geisel
I do remember
How I would wish
I do remember
You made me that green dish
I do remember
How I would beg
I do remember
Those colorful eggs
I do remember
When I was four
I do remember
That Theodor

When it was time
To part as Daughter and Dad
He gave up the little girl
That he once had

Before exchanging vows
I turned around for one last look
To give him a smile
And thank him for the book

For without my Father
I could not be who I am
Still that four year old girl
Listening to Green Eggs and Ham

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

