Old Fogie

26 10 2015

When I was a young man
Way back in my prime
I thought that getting old
Was just a state of mind
With gray hair and wrinkles
Comes wisdom and respect
Till I heard those two words
That got me quite upset

You can call me fuddy buddy
I don’t have a problem with that
Cause one day you’ll be in my shoes
Dag nabit, you wippersnap
Sprouting old phrase lingo
Taking naps with a yawn
And shouting out my front window
HEY YOU KIDS, GET OFF MY LAWN

I’m an old fogie
That’s okey-dokey
I take my time, guess I’m a slow pokey
I’m an old fogie
That’s okey-dokey
I am what I am, I’m no phoney
A trombone player who loves karaoke
I’m an old fogie
That’s okey-Dokey

( Trombone Solo Interlude )

I’ve tried to keep myself in shape
Early walks at the local mall
Bought Rogaine in bulk at Costco
To help me from getting bald
On a restricted diet
To keep Father Time at bay
Can’t keep the hands of fate
Making me NOT look my age

Looking back in hindsight
Way back in my youth
If I saw someone my age
I would have said the same, that’s the truth
Sitting here on a park bench
Those names don’t worry me my friend
Enjoying the twilight of this life
Wearing a fresh new pair of Depends

I’m an old fogie
That’s okey-dokey
I take my time, guess I’m a slow pokey
I’m an old fogie
That’s okey-dokey
I am what I am, I’m no phoney
A trombone player who loves karaoke
I’m a old fogie
That’s okey-Dokey

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

